This site is not affiliated with AGCO Inc., Duluth GA., Allis-Chalmers Co., Milwaukee, WI., or any surviving or related corporate entity. All trademarks remain the property of their respective owners. All information presented herein should be considered the result of an un-moderated public forum with no responsibility for its accuracy or usability assumed by the users and sponsors of this site or any corporate entity.
The Forum Parts and Services Unofficial Allis Store Tractor Shows Serial Numbers History
Forum Home Forum Home > Allis Chalmers > Farm Equipment
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Model B help freeze plug and timing

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Bronze Level
Bronze Level

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Hamblin28 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Model B help freeze plug and timing
    Posted: 27 May 2016 at 10:48am
I am new to tractors, my father in law has a 1942 model b and has rebuilt his motor from the ground up a year ago. One freeze plug had a hole and was leaking but they are so mangled I can't get a good measurement anyone know the size?

He also said it's firing on 2 when it should fire on 1 at top dead center any tips or tricks on how to time this correctly? I've been reading till my brain hurts haha. I will be working on it this weekend for him so any advise would be great. Thanks in advance!
Sponsored Links

steve(ill) View Drop Down
Orange Level Access
Orange Level Access

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote steve(ill) Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 27 May 2016 at 11:54am
you can take the mag off, turn the shaft 90 degrees, and reinstall......... or you can set the mag when it fires at "#2" and put the #1 plug wire in that hole and rotate all the wires to a new position........ it is not critical that #1 plug wire be in a specific hole unless you are politically correct.