This site is not affiliated with AGCO Inc., Duluth GA., Allis-Chalmers Co., Milwaukee, WI., or any surviving or related corporate entity. All trademarks remain the property of their respective owners. All information presented herein should be considered the result of an un-moderated public forum with no responsibility for its accuracy or usability assumed by the users and sponsors of this site or any corporate entity.
The Forum Parts and Services Unofficial Allis Store Tractor Shows Serial Numbers History
Forum Home Forum Home > Allis Chalmers > Farm Equipment
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Allis G won't charge when running

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Bronze Level
Bronze Level

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote first7letters Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Allis G won't charge when running
    Posted: 20 May 2016 at 7:28am
I am new to using a G and working on old tractors.  This spring I cleaned the carb and sparks, and cleaned the points on the distributor and got the thing running, worked it for a bit, and noticed that the battery isn't charging.  The ammeter doesn't move to C when the engine is running, and it seems that after about 20 min of working it, it kills and won't stay running.  I can sort of keep it running if I hold the choke out all the way, but obviously not very well.  This was the case at the end of the season last year, but it would usually work again after it cooled down.  I'll be working it again today to see if the same thing will happen.  And although it runs for a while, at the end of the row that I am cultivating, a lot of the time it gets stuck revving and revving, but feathering the choke seems to remedy this.  I know that it has been converted to negative ground and it is a 6v system.  I pulled the sparks yesterday after it killed and they were pretty black except for the center electrode, and the black rubbed right off with my finger.  There also is a li