This site is not affiliated with AGCO Inc., Duluth GA., Allis-Chalmers Co., Milwaukee, WI., or any surviving or related corporate entity. All trademarks remain the property of their respective owners. All information presented herein should be considered the result of an un-moderated public forum with no responsibility for its accuracy or usability assumed by the users and sponsors of this site or any corporate entity.
The Forum Parts and Services Unofficial Allis Store Tractor Shows Serial Numbers History
Forum Home Forum Home > Allis Chalmers > Construction and other equipment
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

D-14 backhoe help

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Bronze Level
Bronze Level

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Treefeller Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: D-14 backhoe help
    Posted: 19 Nov 2018 at 5:56pm
I am new to this, my apologies. I have a D-14 with a Wagner loader and backhoe. D-14 is a 1950/51 by serial #, the backhoe is a Wagner model 60 POW'R HO. I've owned it for 20 yrs or so. When I first bought it, the machine worked well. As it has aged I noticed that while using the hoe it would stop functioning. I would change the diverter valve back to the loader, wait a few minutes and get the hoe functioning again. This 'wait time' has continued to grow over the years. The loader never has any issues. From looking at a parts manual I have, I can tell someone eliminated the hyd filter somewhere along the line and changed the plumbing to the swing cylinders (not plumbed as shown in manual) and added flow controllers to slow the swing. I know I should put a filter back but want to figure out why the hoe acts as it does before I do. I have mentioned my problem to my network of mechanical buddies and it's been suggested that I might have a internal deteriorated hose (in the hoe circuit) which blocks flow at just the wrong time. I do have a bunch of ancient hoses on the machine. All ad